Deleting Downloads from Frontend and Permissions
Just to recap a Download consists of many parts, the foremost of these is of course the file that is to be downloaded. Other parts comprise items like descriptions, images and thumbnails, and previews.
In order to create a Download from the front end the dominant user group to which the user belongs must have Create permission. Similarly to Edit requires Edit permission, or in appropriate circumstances, Edit Own permission. Similarly to delete the user group must have Delete permission. By dominant user group I mean that of all the user groups to which the user belongs the one with the highest ranking is the 'dominant' user group. Also be aware that if the user is a member of a group that has say Author as its Parent then the user is also a member of the Author, Registered and Public groups. Each of these has a group ranking within jDownloads so make sure the particular group intended as the dominant one 'outranks' the implied members.
The following example uses user group foremenA and a Download called 'DownloadA2-5'
Suppose the permissions for the Download are as shown opposite.
Note generally the permissions to 'Allow' are set in a category at a higher level in the category - sub category - sub sub categeory, ... , Download chain. As a result Downloads usually just 'Inherit' permissions.
|When this Download is shown then the 'pencil' symbol appears indicating that the Download is at least capable of being editted.|
|Similarly in this case the Add button and 'Add' appear in the top bar indicating the Download has Create permission.|
So after clicking on the 'pencil' then the Dowload edit form will be shown.
Note that it is possible to delete the file that would be downloaded. This is to allow the file to be replaced with another one, which might be for example an updated version.
If the file is deleted but it is not replaced then it is a 'simple' download with no file.
Note also that images can be deleted as well but there is no capability to delete the Download as a whole
|Suppose now that the Delete Permission is added. Please note that Delete permission is rarely required as all parts of a Download may be changed individually with just Edit permission. And of course the Download may be deleted from the backend.|
|After Delete permission has been granted then a 'Delete' button appears as shown opposite. Or putting it another way if you cannot see the delete button then the download does not have delete permission for the user group..|
|On successful completion a message such as the one opposite is shown.|
In some situations not all information about the Download is deleted. The images and preview files may be retained depending on the settings of the two parameters that are in the Downloads tab of Configuration. Generally both of these are set to Yes.
Note that no knowledge of these files is retained in the database so if you set them to 'No' then there will be a lot of files retained in directory
<site>/images/jdownloads/screenshots and its sub-directory thumbnails.
Colin Mercer, February 2015